I’m Moving!

Today, which would have been my friend Alice’s 22nd birthday and is the first day of 2017, I’ve decided to give myself a kick up the arse and pick up where I left off on my blog. Admittedly, I’ve neglected it these past few months.

Despite the title of the post, this isn’t one of those ‘New Year, New Me’ declarations. It’s more a reflection of what’s happened and what’s to come. As a whole, 2016 will probably go down as one of the most memorable years in modern history, but on a personal level, it was also a year of healing and discovery. I learned that writing is therapeutic – being a bit of an introvert, I find it a good outlet for whatever I’m thinking of, which is music and fashion 90% of the time tbh. I discovered a white wine that I like (this is a big, adult step up from my typical rum and coke!) and, after two years, I finally sought the help I now know was needed.

2016 has set me up to make the decision to move from the UK to Toronto in ten days time! Toronto has been a special place for me since spending 9 months there as a student a few years ago. With the uncertainty of Brexit looming, I’m glad to be going back to a place I love, knowing I can be independent. With any luck, I’ll be finding a place to live, a job and some new friends so if anyone can help me out with any of that, hit me up!

At the moment I’m weirdly calm about the whole thing – any nerves are quieted by the excitement to be doing something on my own. The plan is to live minimally, doing more of the things I love – music, meeting interesting people, writing – and in the interest of balance, some of the things I don’t love – healthy eating and waking up early!

It’s quite a big thing for me and more than just moving away, it’s a journey of honesty, kindness, self-love, and authenticity. I’m always searching for the best version of myself and I hope Canada will help me find it.

Happy 2017, everyone!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

