First Days of Spring

It’s been a bit dry on the blog recently and for that, I apologise. A lot has changed since the last post – Drake blessed us with new music, we’re moving house and I finally got a job! Aside from my crippling shyness around new people, my work allows me listen to More Life to my heart’s content (Teenage Fever, tho?!) and my team seem to like music as much as me, so everything is pretty perfect.

In the back of my mind, amongst all the craziness, has been the spring trends popping up. I’ve never been one of those people who mentally spend their wages before they get them but, since I heard the good news that I got the job, I’ve found myself subconsciously window shopping. I think my body’s experiencing withdrawals since I haven’t really bought anything for myself (apart from a roof over my head, if that counts?) in over three months. Spring is always a good time to have a wardrobe refresh and prepare for the patio pitchers, BBQs and summer days to come – here’s what I have my eye on:

Embroidered Poplin Shirt – Zara

Zara

Since I’m a working woman now, I wanted to get something relatively smart that I can wear to work over the spring and summer. A shirt is perfect because it’s so versatile and can easily be dressed up or down, depending on what it’s paired with. This one from Zara is blue and white striped, with cropped sleeves and embroidered flowers all over. It looks equally good worn with white trousers and loafers as it does with jeans and trainers. I know that gingham is the must-have print this season, but I’m not sure how ready I am to look like my 7-year-old, primary school self, so embroidery it is.

Trainers – Veja

esplar-suede-natural-pierre.jpg

Speaking of trainers, I’ve pretty much lived in my Adidas since birth. They’ve been around the world with me, including up a volcano! The suede is ripped and so, even though they’re still the comfiest shoes in the world, I think their time has sadly come. Their replacement for the spring comes from Veja – a company that’s been on my radar for a while. Established in 2004, the French company use ethically sourced materials like organic cotton and wild rubber from the Amazon rainforest in Brazil (coincidence that today is Earth Day). Their shoes are manufactured in Brazil where they ensure good working conditions for their staff. It’s quite rare to find a company who genuinely take action to tackle social and environmental issues, so big up Veja.

Bow Linen Trousers – Mango

Mango trousers.jpg

To me, nothing says summer more than linen. These white linen trousers by Mango are a perfect addition to the ‘spring leading up to summer’ category of wardrobe. They’re really light, feature black stitching, frayed edges and bow fastening for decoration, and also come with a matching top, because you can never have too many co-ords! I’d wear them with a pair of Birkenstocks for a lazy summer day, or some yellow mules for a hint of colour.

With it being my first full spring in Toronto, I wasn’t sure what to expect in comparison to a UK spring. I now know that it takes it’s sweet time to get consistently warm! I can’t think of the last time it was below 0, so I assume we’re moving in the right direction, but it’s STILL NOT WARM. Until summer decides to turn up, I look forward to accumulating some clothes for its arrival in the meantime.

One comment

Leave a Reply

